Welcome to the ABA! Bell Talk Forums Repair, Restoration, Parts, Cleaning 3 vanduzen and tift bells in Chicago, need restoration

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      iamskee
      Participant

Hello everyone, I am a bit new to the site and looked through the restoration part of the forum for some information I was looking for, but haven’t found what I was looking for. Heres the story:

St. Michael the Archangel church located on the Southside of Chicago has 3 vanduzen and tift bells in the tower. They have long since been silenced, however we are pondering the idea of restoring them. They are all in EXCELLENT condition (the actual bells, at least). That’s the good.

The bad – The bells most likely have never been kept up or maintained, because the largest of the bell has (what looks to be) the original WOODEN round pulley system attached to it. The actual wheel is long gone, but the spokes are there. The other 2 bells have no pulley system on them left.

I am a bit new to the bell world but all three have the yolks, stands, and hammer things, though 2 have been removed so the bell could sit directly on the floor, when the wooden stand rotted.

All 3 are located in a bell tower at least 75 feet up. They once were used with a rope pulley system, as there are little shoots in the ceiling for the ropes to go.

What I don’t know and would like help with, is could anyone roughly estimate how much $$ it would take to get these going again? Just a rough estimate so we can begin a campaign to save them?

Also, does anyone know of a bell restoration company located in or around the Chicago land area? This would help wiht the estimations also I assume.

I will attach pics, any information welcome and appreciated!

Thanks in advance, Andrew

Heres a link to the pictures and a video that I uploaded to photobucket.