Welcome to the ABA! Bell Talk Forums Large Bells 1904 Meneely resto / polish

Viewing 11 reply threads
  • Author
      BrightLee
      Participant

New guy here, I am a metal polisher by trade and I have been asked to polish this bell for display in a town hall. I don’t think they have any intension of ringing the bell once inside and on display. I also don’t think they are completely aware of what polishing may or may not do for its historical value. (nor do I)
      I can achieve a very high luster on the bell without removing more than a couple thousands of on inch. My process does not include the use of chemicals or the need for any type media blasting.
      The bell is in my garage in Coleman Michigan and the bottom of the bell measures 23 inches and it is 17 or 18 inches tall before it disappears into the top support arch / frame.
      http://s1144.photobucket.com/user/brightlee/slideshow/Meneely%20Bell

huge bell
      Participant

I have polished many bells..can you post a phone number? and I will let you know my thoughts

BrightLee
      Participant

I do thank you Mr. Bell, however I’m not in need of polishing advise. However I am having trouble separating the bronze bell from the steel / iron frame.
      There is a lot of corrosion and I can’t tell yet if the bronze is threaded / bolted to the frame or just press fit and held by the clunker assembly?
      I wasn’t sure if I should polish it or just clean it and paint the frame ad stand but I have decided to go through with the polishing as that is the customers preference. I’ve been polishing all types of metals and many plastics for 25 years now and done a few bells along the way as well. Never one this big or this old though.
      I saw the post from Neal and have been soaking and tapping for almost a week now.
      I’m going to do some filing on the head to get a better look this weekend and post the results.

jackbell
      Participant